Dirty Books For The Ladies – What To Read After Fifty Shades

2nd May 2012

So I read Fifty Shades and blogged about it, but then at this point, who hasn’t.

More importantly, look how handsome Christian is:

Dreamy.

Anyway, after much thought, I decided to read other dirty books for research purposes. Ahem.

Someone has to do it.

I’ve also been reading Angie’s blog (she’s an addict, yo) and her posts about her “smut” recommendations gave me some great suggestions on where to start.

Here’s what I’ve read so far:

The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice 

This is a trilogy but I’ve only read the first to date. I refer to this book as “medieval crazy, sexy time naked slavery”.  It’s actually a good read, and very well written – definitely plan to read the other two books in the trilogy. These are considered the high quality erotica for you erotica snobs out there.

Bared to You by Sylvia Day

Bared to You is actually kind of similar to Fifty Shades except that it’s much better written. The main characters are Ava (she’s one thousand times less annoying than Anastasia) and Gideon Cross (yes, another rich hot dude – see photo above) and who doesn’t want to sleep with a rich dude named Gideon, seriously. READ IT.

Comfort Object by Annabel Joseph

This one is DIRTY with a capital D. You’ll need to take breaks where you rub your eyeballs with kittens and rainbows to even out the nasty. It is going to make you squirmy and not in a good way. It’s good but really, really bad. Yes, I am a professional book reviewer – why do you ask?

Caressa’s Knees by Annabel Joseph

This is another book (meant to be read second) that features some of the characters from Comfort Object, however the similarities end there. It’s actually pretty good but not as depraved as Comfort Object. And it features classical music and a cello so it will make you cultured – in a dirty way.

Odalisque by Annabel Joseph

Another book (meant to be read third) featuring some of the characters of the other two books by Annabel Joseph. It’s VERY different from the other two again and it’s crazy time in terms of how far fetched it is in parts but I’m pretty sure that’s a prerequisite in these books. I did enjoy it however.

Mercy by Annabel Joeph

Hated it – it involves a ballerina, and I’m sorry but ballerinas have no place in lady smut. BECAUSE THEY’RE BALLERINAS!!!

Captive by Leda Swann

This should be called BORED TO TEARS because that’s how I felt reading it.

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Seriously, I couldn’t even get through this one. I might try again but if I have to work hard (no pun intended) to get through it, I’m out.

Rock Me by Cherrie Lynn

I actually really liked this one because it’s more story than dirty and it involves tattoo parlours and good girls and who doesn’t love that combination.

*

Honestly, books considered lady porn (and please stop calling it mommy porn – mommies can’t claim EVERYTHING) are a quick read, ironically. They take me a day to read and by day, I mean maybe three hours or so. Books tend to be a quick read when there isn’t that much to process – dirty things are happening, turn the page.

Also, something I’ve learned about Erotica books in general:

  • Every single one ends with a happy ending. Every single one.
  • “I’m yours” is in every book and something you should never say to your husband or he’ll expect you to do what he wants.
  • A lot of rich dudes are really sick when it comes to what rocks their socks.
  • If you read too many of these books in a row, you might dream of Thor and how cute your Thor babies will be.

*

So while I continue my research, I would love to know if you’ve read any of these? Any suggestions on what I should read next?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

42 thoughts on “Dirty Books For The Ladies – What To Read After Fifty Shades

  1. Nenette

    Gah! I’m the erotica snob you’re referring to, aren’t you? 😛 You did call me that on FB, so I have to assume! 🙂

    I wrote about erotic novels on my blog sometime ago. May have been in 2008 — I have some good recommendations on that one, I think. I think. I don’t remember, so I’ll make a new list for you:
    Okay, as you know, I’m partial to Anne Rice’s Sleeping Beauty Trilogy. I recommend the short stories written by Thea Devine. Same with Bertrice Small. Some of their stories are more romancy than eroticy, but they’re still better than other authors, who… well, you might as well be reading Penthouse Forum for the amount of plot they give you.
    Ahem. The Story of O is a classic. Some books from Black Lace are okay, but some are real stinkers. It’s really hit and miss with them, but the ones I’ve enjoyed are Ninety Days of Genevieve (which is like 50 shades, but a little better. just a little.), Bella’s Blade, Dark Obsession, Ace of Hearts. They’re lighter fare, but still entertaining. The Black Lace short story compilations like Modern Love and Sugar & Spice are good too.

    Okay, that should be good for an afternoon or two. I’ll share more in the future.

    Reply
    1. MARIA Post author

      Thanks Nenette! And to clarify, you are only ONE of the many erotica snobs out there. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Becky

    I love you for this. And I agree. I actually liked bared to you the most out of these after 50 shades. The writing in 50 is horrible but I was able to overlook it cause I was in love with Christian lol but Eva is way better than Ana and Gideon is just as hot as Christian. Thanks for the suggestions. Comfort Object was just insane. Every book has the rich guy and I’m yours, yes, and they all fall in love and I’m glad. Women need there to be love with their smut lol

    Reply
  3. Ashlea

    I’m so glad I found this site, I read the Fifty Shades books, the Bared to you, and I was just wondering what I should read next after that. I’m going to get the Comfort Object next and go from there. I plan on going down your list of reads now. And hope to read all your suggestions, as these reads are newer to me and I wasnt sure where to go, 🙂
    Thanks

    Reply
    1. michlleb

      Interesting, Ashlea, that you plan on “going down” the list.
      I’m sure that wasn’t a necessary obersvation, but it is the first thing that came to mind.

      Reply
  4. zzoee

    This is the very first time I’ve ever left a comment on a blog but I just had to because I laughed out loud so hard my husband thought I was crying! Good job!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Dirty Books for the Ladies – Part Two | BORED Mommy

  6. Dawn

    Thank you for the recommendations. I just read The Dark Garden and swear this is what E L James read just before she sat down to write Fifty Shades. Yes, there is a Christian but his role is a it different and it is the woman who can’t (won’t ) fall in live with him. Definitely worth reading!

    You are hilarious and totally made me laugh out loud! I look forward to reading more 🙂

    Dawn

    Reply
    1. MARIA Post author

      Thanks so much Dawn. I’m definitely going to check out The Dark Garden. I thought the same thing when I read Bared to You – so many similarities, it was very strange.

      Reply
  7. GH_Fan

    How do the Zane books fair to you guys?
    I tried reading one but it couldn’t keep my interest…

    Reply
  8. BRENDA

    I have read the Fifty Shades Trilogy 3 times, back to back. I have read Bared to You and am anxiously waiting the second book to be released in October…I, of course, pre-ordered it for my Nook reader. I have read 60-some books since reading Fifty Shades. I suggest Trust In Advertising. Although it isn’t erotica, it is a nice love story that leads your mind into the fantasy of the two main characters finally hooking up. I will go through my library and figure out what other books are worth mentioning, some are explicit. I have just started my Weight Watchers diet yesterday, stumbled upon your site looking for point values, but found at least 3 things in common with you: the diet, the love of “lady porn”, and a good sense of humor. I look forward to visiting your site OFTEN 🙂

    Reply
  9. Tracy

    Thanks for all the referrals 😉 I’ve recently finished the Sweet series by Maya Banks, not sure if it was mentioned above but they were very 50-shades ish!!

    Reply
  10. Debbie

    Hi -I read 50 Shades while on vacation and brought the books back for few co-workes to read. One of the husbands called me and thanked me!! His said his wife took the books on vacation and they had best time ever!! I’ve just finished Bared to You and Reflected in You. I can hardly wait for the third book. I highly recommend almost anything Sylvia Day writes. Some are better than others, but I’ve not been disappointed so far. I also read Sleeping Beauty, but unlike you, I didn’t like it. To me, although erotic, the humiliation and pain inflicted dominated the stories. I read all 3 books hoping that the story improved, but I continued to be disappointed. That being said, I would like to recommend Easy by Tammara Webber. The story is somewhat different in that the main caracter “Susie” loves men and women and although that is not my preference, the story is very good. By the way – love this site – I just found it today and I will continue visit!!

    Reply
  11. RubyRoo

    I stumbled across this site through a google search for the “comfort books”…As everyone else I read 50 shades and fell hopelessly in love with Mr Grey (although I picture Joe Manganiello (Alcide Herveaux) from True Blood when I think of Christian Grey) I went on to read the Sylvia Day books Bared to you and Reflected in you which I think I may have loved a little more than 50 shades!! I have now just finished reading Eighty Days Yellow by Vina Jackson. It was a little squirmy (in a eww way) in places but other than that is wasnt difficult to read…Im now looking for the next 2 books of hers Eighty Days Blue and Red. Another series I really enjoyed before 50 shades was the Dark Carpathians series by Christine Feehan. There are about 21 books in the series its erotica/vampire/romance but is very addictive!! Love this site will def bookmark for future refference!!

    Reply
  12. Kyla

    You are so funny! Here are some that I loved after Fifty and Bared to you:

    Undeniable (Sheehan) – if you are into hot bikers
    First Thing I See (Keeland) – if you are into hot wealthy alpha males, erotica and a great story
    Hopeless (Hoover) – if you are into a great story, without the erotica
    This Man (Malpas) – if you are into erotica, without much of a story

    Reply
  13. michelle

    Not sure if you have heard of it already, but the Sweet series by Maya banks is actually really good! And i love that there was 6 books because i hate when it ends ! BTW you are so funny! And i cant wait for the 3rd crossfire novel comes out! June 4th!

    Reply
    1. MARIA Post author

      Thanks Michelle! I’m going to be doing some more of these posts because I’ve read a TON since posting this one – and yes I’ve read the Maya Banks series and loved it too!! DYING for the new GIDEON!!

      Reply
    1. MARIA Post author

      DUDE, I’ve read them!! I’m going to do some newer posts since I’ve read so much since this post was written. And I totally agree with you!!

      Reply
  14. GH_Lover

    LOL I can’t wait until the 3rd one comes out in July – I am gonna re-read the first 2 just to get ready LOL

    Reply
  15. GH_Lover

    ohh no I was talking about the last book in the This Man series by Jodi Ellen Malpas – the 3rd one comes out in July 🙂 At least according to Amazon it does…

    Reply
  16. Pingback: Dirty Books For The Ladies - Part Three - BORED Mommy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *