May
02

Dirty Books For The Ladies – What To Read After Fifty Shades

by MARIA on May 2, 2012

So I read Fifty Shades and blogged about it, but then at this point, who hasn’t.

More importantly, look how handsome Christian is:

Dreamy.

Anyway, after much thought, I decided to read other dirty books for research purposes. Ahem.

Someone has to do it.

I’ve also been reading Angie’s blog (she’s an addict, yo) and her posts about her “smut” recommendations gave me some great suggestions on where to start.

Here’s what I’ve read so far:

The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty by Anne Rice 

This is a trilogy but I’ve only read the first to date. I refer to this book as “medieval crazy, sexy time naked slavery”.  It’s actually a good read, and very well written – definitely plan to read the other two books in the trilogy. These are considered the high quality erotica for you erotica snobs out there.

Bared to You by Sylvia Day

Bared to You is actually kind of similar to Fifty Shades except that it’s much better written. The main characters are Ava (she’s one thousand times less annoying than Anastasia) and Gideon Cross (yes, another rich hot dude – see photo above) and who doesn’t want to sleep with a rich dude named Gideon, seriously. READ IT.

Comfort Object by Annabel Joseph

This one is DIRTY with a capital D. You’ll need to take breaks where you rub your eyeballs with kittens and rainbows to even out the nasty. It is going to make you squirmy and not in a good way. It’s good but really, really bad. Yes, I am a professional book reviewer – why do you ask?

Caressa’s Knees by Annabel Joseph

This is another book (meant to be read second) that features some of the characters from Comfort Object, however the similarities end there. It’s actually pretty good but not as depraved as Comfort Object. And it features classical music and a cello so it will make you cultured – in a dirty way.

Odalisque by Annabel Joseph

Another book (meant to be read third) featuring some of the characters of the other two books by Annabel Joseph. It’s VERY different from the other two again and it’s crazy time in terms of how far fetched it is in parts but I’m pretty sure that’s a prerequisite in these books. I did enjoy it however.

Mercy by Annabel Joeph

Hated it – it involves a ballerina, and I’m sorry but ballerinas have no place in lady smut. BECAUSE THEY’RE BALLERINAS!!!

Captive by Leda Swann

This should be called BORED TO TEARS because that’s how I felt reading it.

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Seriously, I couldn’t even get through this one. I might try again but if I have to work hard (no pun intended) to get through it, I’m out.

Rock Me by Cherrie Lynn

I actually really liked this one because it’s more story than dirty and it involves tattoo parlours and good girls and who doesn’t love that combination.

*

Honestly, books considered lady porn (and please stop calling it mommy porn – mommies can’t claim EVERYTHING) are a quick read, ironically. They take me a day to read and by day, I mean maybe three hours or so. Books tend to be a quick read when there isn’t that much to process – dirty things are happening, turn the page.

Also, something I’ve learned about Erotica books in general:

  • Every single one ends with a happy ending. Every single one.
  • “I’m yours” is in every book and something you should never say to your husband or he’ll expect you to do what he wants.
  • A lot of rich dudes are really sick when it comes to what rocks their socks.
  • If you read too many of these books in a row, you might dream of Thor and how cute your Thor babies will be.

*

So while I continue my research, I would love to know if you’ve read any of these? Any suggestions on what I should read next?

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

{ 39 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Sandy May 2, 2012 at 5:15 pm

You are too funny!!! Obviously you review erotica ALL THE TIME.

Reply

2 MARIA May 2, 2012 at 5:19 pm

I’m seeing a doctor about it. :)

Reply

3 Nenette May 2, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Gah! I’m the erotica snob you’re referring to, aren’t you? :P You did call me that on FB, so I have to assume! :)

I wrote about erotic novels on my blog sometime ago. May have been in 2008 — I have some good recommendations on that one, I think. I think. I don’t remember, so I’ll make a new list for you:
Okay, as you know, I’m partial to Anne Rice’s Sleeping Beauty Trilogy. I recommend the short stories written by Thea Devine. Same with Bertrice Small. Some of their stories are more romancy than eroticy, but they’re still better than other authors, who… well, you might as well be reading Penthouse Forum for the amount of plot they give you.
Ahem. The Story of O is a classic. Some books from Black Lace are okay, but some are real stinkers. It’s really hit and miss with them, but the ones I’ve enjoyed are Ninety Days of Genevieve (which is like 50 shades, but a little better. just a little.), Bella’s Blade, Dark Obsession, Ace of Hearts. They’re lighter fare, but still entertaining. The Black Lace short story compilations like Modern Love and Sugar & Spice are good too.

Okay, that should be good for an afternoon or two. I’ll share more in the future.

Reply

4 MARIA May 2, 2012 at 6:24 pm

Thanks Nenette! And to clarify, you are only ONE of the many erotica snobs out there. :)

Reply

5 Angie [A Whole Lot of Nothing] May 2, 2012 at 7:48 pm

I need Thor babies. Or maybe just Chris Hemsworth in my pants.

Reply

6 MARIA May 2, 2012 at 8:45 pm

Get in line.

Reply

7 Candace Derickx May 2, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Behind me ;)

Reply

8 Kameron May 2, 2012 at 9:19 pm

I need to get on the soft core bandwagon over here. ;) I suppose I will start with oneof the 50you have read recently! lol

Reply

9 MARIA May 2, 2012 at 9:59 pm

I want to know what you think when you’re done!!

Reply

10 Becky May 2, 2012 at 11:03 pm

I love you for this. And I agree. I actually liked bared to you the most out of these after 50 shades. The writing in 50 is horrible but I was able to overlook it cause I was in love with Christian lol but Eva is way better than Ana and Gideon is just as hot as Christian. Thanks for the suggestions. Comfort Object was just insane. Every book has the rich guy and I’m yours, yes, and they all fall in love and I’m glad. Women need there to be love with their smut lol

Reply

11 MARIA May 2, 2012 at 11:24 pm

Thanks for reading Becky!

Reply

12 Chantal May 3, 2012 at 2:09 pm

I need to read more!

Reply

13 MARIA May 3, 2012 at 2:11 pm

Yeah you do!!

Reply

14 Ashlea May 15, 2012 at 3:18 pm

I’m so glad I found this site, I read the Fifty Shades books, the Bared to you, and I was just wondering what I should read next after that. I’m going to get the Comfort Object next and go from there. I plan on going down your list of reads now. And hope to read all your suggestions, as these reads are newer to me and I wasnt sure where to go, :)
Thanks

Reply

15 MARIA May 15, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Thanks Ashlea. Enjoy!

Reply

16 michlleb July 16, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Interesting, Ashlea, that you plan on “going down” the list.
I’m sure that wasn’t a necessary obersvation, but it is the first thing that came to mind.

Reply

17 zzoee May 18, 2012 at 2:11 am

This is the very first time I’ve ever left a comment on a blog but I just had to because I laughed out loud so hard my husband thought I was crying! Good job!

Reply

18 Dawn June 4, 2012 at 7:18 pm

Thank you for the recommendations. I just read The Dark Garden and swear this is what E L James read just before she sat down to write Fifty Shades. Yes, there is a Christian but his role is a it different and it is the woman who can’t (won’t ) fall in live with him. Definitely worth reading!

You are hilarious and totally made me laugh out loud! I look forward to reading more :)

Dawn

Reply

19 Dawn June 4, 2012 at 7:19 pm

Oh my apologies for all the spelling disasters!!

Reply

20 MARIA June 4, 2012 at 7:23 pm

No worries. :)

Reply

21 MARIA June 4, 2012 at 7:23 pm

Thanks so much Dawn. I’m definitely going to check out The Dark Garden. I thought the same thing when I read Bared to You – so many similarities, it was very strange.

Reply

22 GH_Fan June 5, 2012 at 9:57 am

How do the Zane books fair to you guys?
I tried reading one but it couldn’t keep my interest…

Reply

23 BRENDA August 6, 2012 at 12:07 pm

I have read the Fifty Shades Trilogy 3 times, back to back. I have read Bared to You and am anxiously waiting the second book to be released in October…I, of course, pre-ordered it for my Nook reader. I have read 60-some books since reading Fifty Shades. I suggest Trust In Advertising. Although it isn’t erotica, it is a nice love story that leads your mind into the fantasy of the two main characters finally hooking up. I will go through my library and figure out what other books are worth mentioning, some are explicit. I have just started my Weight Watchers diet yesterday, stumbled upon your site looking for point values, but found at least 3 things in common with you: the diet, the love of “lady porn”, and a good sense of humor. I look forward to visiting your site OFTEN :)

Reply

24 MARIA August 6, 2012 at 5:08 pm

Thanks so much Brenda!!

Reply

25 Tracy August 28, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Thanks for all the referrals ;) I’ve recently finished the Sweet series by Maya Banks, not sure if it was mentioned above but they were very 50-shades ish!!

Reply

26 Debbie November 7, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Hi -I read 50 Shades while on vacation and brought the books back for few co-workes to read. One of the husbands called me and thanked me!! His said his wife took the books on vacation and they had best time ever!! I’ve just finished Bared to You and Reflected in You. I can hardly wait for the third book. I highly recommend almost anything Sylvia Day writes. Some are better than others, but I’ve not been disappointed so far. I also read Sleeping Beauty, but unlike you, I didn’t like it. To me, although erotic, the humiliation and pain inflicted dominated the stories. I read all 3 books hoping that the story improved, but I continued to be disappointed. That being said, I would like to recommend Easy by Tammara Webber. The story is somewhat different in that the main caracter “Susie” loves men and women and although that is not my preference, the story is very good. By the way – love this site – I just found it today and I will continue visit!!

Reply

27 RubyRoo November 29, 2012 at 6:10 pm

I stumbled across this site through a google search for the “comfort books”…As everyone else I read 50 shades and fell hopelessly in love with Mr Grey (although I picture Joe Manganiello (Alcide Herveaux) from True Blood when I think of Christian Grey) I went on to read the Sylvia Day books Bared to you and Reflected in you which I think I may have loved a little more than 50 shades!! I have now just finished reading Eighty Days Yellow by Vina Jackson. It was a little squirmy (in a eww way) in places but other than that is wasnt difficult to read…Im now looking for the next 2 books of hers Eighty Days Blue and Red. Another series I really enjoyed before 50 shades was the Dark Carpathians series by Christine Feehan. There are about 21 books in the series its erotica/vampire/romance but is very addictive!! Love this site will def bookmark for future refference!!

Reply

28 Kyla January 26, 2013 at 10:03 am

You are so funny! Here are some that I loved after Fifty and Bared to you:

Undeniable (Sheehan) – if you are into hot bikers
First Thing I See (Keeland) – if you are into hot wealthy alpha males, erotica and a great story
Hopeless (Hoover) – if you are into a great story, without the erotica
This Man (Malpas) – if you are into erotica, without much of a story

Reply

29 MARIA January 26, 2013 at 10:11 pm

Thanks Kyla!!

Reply

30 michelle May 26, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Not sure if you have heard of it already, but the Sweet series by Maya banks is actually really good! And i love that there was 6 books because i hate when it ends ! BTW you are so funny! And i cant wait for the 3rd crossfire novel comes out! June 4th!

Reply

31 MARIA May 30, 2013 at 11:06 am

Thanks Michelle! I’m going to be doing some more of these posts because I’ve read a TON since posting this one – and yes I’ve read the Maya Banks series and loved it too!! DYING for the new GIDEON!!

Reply

32 GH_Lover May 28, 2013 at 8:55 am

Dude – the This Man series from Jodi Ellen Malpas are totally excellent and HOT!

Must reads!

Reply

33 MARIA May 30, 2013 at 11:07 am

DUDE, I’ve read them!! I’m going to do some newer posts since I’ve read so much since this post was written. And I totally agree with you!!

Reply

34 GH_Lover May 30, 2013 at 5:42 pm

LOL I can’t wait until the 3rd one comes out in July – I am gonna re-read the first 2 just to get ready LOL

Reply

35 MARIA May 30, 2013 at 5:57 pm

The third one actually comes out on June 3rd!!!! You better get reading!!

Reply

36 GH_Lover June 1, 2013 at 10:48 am

oh no hun, it’s July 2nd :D Can’t wait hehehehehehe

Reply

37 MARIA June 2, 2013 at 2:36 pm

I promise it’s TUESDAY!! Check out Sylvia Day’s FB page and she has a countdown to the day – https://www.facebook.com/AuthorSylviaDay?fref=ts

Reply

38 GH_Lover June 3, 2013 at 2:34 pm

ohh no I was talking about the last book in the This Man series by Jodi Ellen Malpas – the 3rd one comes out in July :-) At least according to Amazon it does…

Reply

39 amycake June 6, 2013 at 7:53 pm

Hopeless is good – dirty and a great story.

Reply

Leave a Comment

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: